Remote Wipe: What is Remote Wipe and how do I use it?
Remote Wipe is a Blackphone exclusive application that gives you peace of mind by allowing you control over your data from anywhere in the world. With Remote Wipe, you can power off or even wipe the device data remotely via the https://manage.blackphone.ch web portal.
First, you need to set it up on Blackphone. See https://my.blackphone.ch/bp2/silent_os/5_remote_wipe.html and:
- Open the Remote Wipe app.
- Setup your Remote Wipe account: the password selected must have at least 8 characters and include at least one capital letter and one special character (number or symbol). This account password can be retrieve if you lose the old one. That’s why an email account is required in this step.
- Create a device secret key. Again, the password selected must have at least 8 characters and include at least one capital letter and one special character (number or symbol). This key is specific for your device and it’s the one you will need to enter later if you want to remotely wipe that specific device. Please, note that, for security reasons this password can not be changed or retrieved if you lose or forget it!
- Name your Blackphone, we ask the user for a device name to identify it within the management portal. One single user can manage several Blackphones that will be listed in the portal.
Then, to actually use it:
- Log in to https://manage.blackphone.ch with the account you created above.
- Once you do that, a simple interface will offer you two different actions you can perform: Device Wipe and Power Off.
- Device Wipe allows you to remotely wipe all the information in the device. Please, notice that the information in your external SD card won’t be erased using this feature. We recommend not storing sensitive information on the external SD card.
- Power Off command will power off the device remotely. If you have encrypted the device as we recommend, once switched off, the information inside now is secured.